Home Built Cabinet Smoker

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

Home Built Cabinet Smoker

Postby Flinny » 26 Oct 2015, 13:41

I'm going to use this as a build blog for my cabinet smoker. I am completely new to the smoking game so any help, advice, tips and critique is greatly received.

I am a design engineer so naturally I am never 100% happy with anything I buy and usually spend my time ripping things apart and modifying them, not always for the better though!! After spending many nights researching different smokers over the last few months I thought I would have a go at building one myself. As always seems the case with any of my home projects this started out small and simple and turned into a full blown engineering job!

After a lot of thought I have gone for a cabinet smoker, mainly so I can install it flush into a wall when I get onto my next big project, a house build. I am going for an all stainless steel construction so that this thing will last a lifetime, and it makes it exceptionally easy for me to modify in terms of welding new parts on and not worrying about painting the thing. My company builds stainless steel structures so we are fully set up for stainless production and fabrication which is a huge bonus.

This is the design I have gone for.....
-Stainless steel body in 4mm thick 304 grade
-Double wall construction to allow 25mm gap for insulating on all faces
-2 doors, one small lower door for the fire box and ash pan, one larger top door for the cooking area
-Removable water/drip pan
-Settable chimney flap
-2 firebox air vent dampers
-Cap to add water to water pan without opening the cooking area door
-4 cooking racks
-Hanging point in the top
-Door mounted Tel Tru 3" thermometer
-Points to add thermocouples and a blower, these will be blanked off for now

Got the main components for the fabrication completed last week, just the doors and cooking trays to cut and fold now..