Gas v wood

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

Gas v wood

Postby Vic. » 15 Mar 2011, 17:10

I'm going into this as a complete novice so be gentle :lol: , but I'm on the gas side, I believe I can create a cleaner tastier product with a gas ring and wood chunks/chips than the traditional wood burning method. Is there anyone with me? :geek:

At the end of the day, wood burning smokers are messy and hard to break in. Gas smokers can give the same amount of smoke with a cleaner end product and better temp control.....thoughts? :twisted: :D
Vic.
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Re: Gas v wood

Postby Steve » 15 Mar 2011, 17:12

Gas, only one letter away from gay :lol:

Sorry bud, I'm for burning wood and charcoal. I only ever use gas for convenience when grilling after work or when time is limited. Not that I'm saying you won't get a good product using gas, it's just not my bag.
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Vic. » 15 Mar 2011, 17:15

HA, HA, very good :lol: ......feel a bit of a sissy now :oops:...hell, my gas smoker is still going ahead, might paint it pink :D
Vic.
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Postby Steve » 15 Mar 2011, 17:16

Each to his own mate, if you like cooking on gas and enjoy the food you produce then fire away. I've tasted some great food in the States that has come off gas smokers.
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Vic. » 15 Mar 2011, 17:20

see when you guys smoke on wood, do you use other stuff to keep the fire going or is it purely smoking wood like hickery, pecan, cherry, etc?
Vic.
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Postby Steve » 15 Mar 2011, 23:03

Charcoal for heat, wood for flavour, that's how i roll :D

Apart from when I use the pellet pooper I cook on bullets and UDS, both of which are designed to work with charcoal for the fire with a bit of wood mixed in for smoke. I use very little wood, a light wisp of smoke is all I'm trying to get.
Steve
Site Admin
Site Admin