Advice for (another) newbie

A place to discuss low 'n' slow cooking, ask questions and share advice.

Advice for (another) newbie

Postby lee989 » 19 Aug 2017, 19:04

Hi all

I'm by no means a BBQ expert and can just about cook the usual sausage & burger fair on my BBQ without giving anyone food poisoning, but my better half bought me a smoking box and some wood chips for my birthday as i'd hinted at maybe trying a smoked joint (of the meat variety), and after 12 months I should probably give it go!

To start, let me just say none of my equipment is all that great. I have a cheap oil drum BBQ from Argos (http://www.argos.co.uk/product/2870520), a bag of charcoal briquettes from ASDA, and a smoking box bought off ebay. I also have two cheap food thermometers to avoid food poisoning, which I believe are accurate to a couple of degrees.

I'm hoping what I have is enough to give this smoking thing a go. If i get the bug i'm sure i'll be investing in some better equipment, but I don't want to go out and buy all new stuff too find I can't be bothered after the first go.

Anyway, on to my questions!

1. I have a coal starter for getting things going, however I'm obviously going to have to top up the BBQ every hour or so. Do you just add unlit charcoal on top of the existing hot ones? If so, do you take the meat off until that new charcoal is white hot? Or should I use the starter to get the next batch ready and just take the meat off whilst I tip it in the tray (to avoid covering the meat in the ash)

2. Wood chips and soaking... Some googling seems to say that soaking them first is best, but then others (like a post I read on here) says to use them dry. I'm using a smoking box (if that makes any difference), should I soak them first or not? Does it make any difference? Is there a time when you would and wouldn't soak?