Thoughts please?

A place for all your seasonings and sauces.

Thoughts please?

Postby MarkE » 20 Dec 2011, 15:50

hi all,

I'm thinking of injecting a topside of beef for Xmas. This is my first attempt at injecting so anything could happen! I'm thinking of using some bourbon, finely chopped garlic and a bit of butter and a bit of brown sugar, combined in a pan and heated until the sugar melts and the alchol has burnt off the bourbon. Might include a dash of cayenne pepper as well

Anyone got any thoughts on this? Will it be either a masterpiece or a disaster? All views welcome
MarkE
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Re: Thoughts please?

Postby clairbare » 20 Dec 2011, 15:57

We have not cooked any beef (other than brisket) and I won't comment on what you are attempting to do as such - except the chopped garlic MAY get stuck in your syringe - you may be better with garlic powder?? Others with more beef experience will soon be along with advice
clairbare
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Postby MarkE » 20 Dec 2011, 15:59

hi Clair,

thanks for that. I forgot to mention that I was going to strain the finished liquid to remove any bits of garlic.
MarkE
Got Wood!
Got Wood!

Postby clairbare » 20 Dec 2011, 16:03

:D you probably wouldnt have needed to say it either likely i was just having a blonde moment ;)
clairbare
Twisted Firestarter
Twisted Firestarter

Postby keith157 » 21 Dec 2011, 13:18

IMHO good British beef shouldn't need injecting, it should be moist enough. Please bear in mind I'm speaking for conventional oven cooking. I've never done a joint of beef low n slow on a barbecue so good luck and let us know how it goes, with pics as well. Out of sheer noseyness how big a bit of beef is it?
keith157

Postby joker smoker » 21 Dec 2011, 14:49

to get the flavours you are looking for this is what I would do.
1. Make an injection marinade using Knorr Marco Pierrre stock pots [1x beef and 1x herb] maybe a splash of L&P.