My Barbduino Project

Please feel free to post reviews of new barbecues, gadgets and of course food. The opinions within the forum are not necessarily that of the web site owner!

My Barbduino Project

Postby Chris__M » 04 Jun 2011, 15:18

Earlier, I posted about my plans to build a digital controller for my Traeger pellet grill using the Arduino open source microcontroller board.

I’m new to the Arduino (although not to programming), so my first step was to buy a simple Arduino experimenter’s kit and do some general non-BBQ projects, to familiarise myself with the kit and its capabilities. This is still ongoing. I made a point only to buy the Arduino kit, and not the add-ons I might later require, such as the WiFi and LCD Screen options – doing so means I will learn to walk before I run, and limits my spend, in case the project doesn’t fly.

However, in my head I already had a grand plan for what it would do – controlling all aspects of the grill, connecting to my home network by WiFi, running a simple web-server displaying the temperatures. It is easy to let your imagination get carried away.

I have now thrown away those ideas, and replaced them with a simpler plan that will be a lot easier to achieve, while still allowing me to develop it further at a later date.

The manual controller currently controls three things: the igniter rod, which heats up for the first 4 minutes the grill is switched on, and ignites the pellets; the auger, which feeds the grill with pellets for fuel; and the fan, which is wired into the main controller on/off switch and provides air for combustion.

For the moment, the existing manual controller is going to remain in place, with the Arduino connected in parallel in the auger motor circuit. The manual controller will continue to control the igniter rod.