Competition..is it in you?

The place to hang out and chat about anything and everything that doesn't fall under our other categories.

Re: Competition..is it in you?

Postby British BBQ Society » 24 Feb 2011, 13:01

DrSweetsmoke wrote:*Are cooking trends something you fallow?Doc

when you copy and paste something...... almost creepy can you check the spelling first :lol:
British BBQ Society
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Chris__M » 24 Feb 2011, 13:23

Being an avid boardgame player, I am pretty competitive in that area - I have been, since a kid. I am also a musician, and funnily enough, I don't feel I am competitive in music at all - my outlets for music tend to be much more collaborative and sharing.

I am currently somewhat obese (although being over 6' tall, I carry it better than some), but even when I was thin and reasonably fit, in my 20's and 30's, I was not competitive athletically. Although I still fondly remember a time when some college friends nagged me into going on a run with them, promising to take it easy for their slacker friend. I started off lagging behind, but then got into my pace, and ended up passing them all, to their shock. But while I found it immensely amusing, I didn't find running or any kind of sport interesting enough to pursue at all - it bored me.

With regard to cooking - be it BBQ or otherwise - I do it because I absolutely love it. Anyone who meets me will assume I do it because I like eating, but it isn't that - I love learning new ways to make things that taste nice, and I love surprising guests (I guess that is competitive, no?). I also love tinkering with tech, which is why I have more cooking and BBQ kit than a single guy should need.